Chambers of the Heart

The heart is divided into four chambers. The two upper chambers are the atria, specifically the right atrium and the left atrium. The atria are separated by a wall of tissue called the atrial septum. The two lower chambers are the ventricles, specifically the right ventricle and the left ventricle. The ventricles are separated from each other by the ventricular septum. Blood flows from the right atrium to the right ventricle, through the lungs where it picks up oxygen, and then into the left atrium and then the left ventricle. Blood is then pumped out of the left ventricle to the rest of the body. The ventricles, particularly the left ventricle, are more muscular and do more pumping.


©2021 All rights reserved. creates and licenses medical illustrations and animations for educational use. Our goal is to increase your understanding of medical terminology and help communication between patients, caregiver and healthcare professionals. The content in the Media Library is for your information and education purposes only. The Media Library is not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment for specific medical conditions.