Right Atrium

The heart is divided into four chambers. The two upper chambers are the atria, and are separated into the right and left atrium by a wall of tissue called the atrial septum. The two lower chambers are the ventricles, and are separated into the right and left ventricle by the ventricular septum.

The right atrium receives blood from the body via the superior vena cava and the inferior vena cava. Blood flows from the right atrium to the right ventricle. The blood is then pumped by the right ventricle to the lungs where it picks up oxygen. Blood returns to the left atrium, flows into left ventricle and then is pumped out to the body.


©2022 Medmovie.com. All rights reserved. Medmovie.com creates and licenses medical illustrations and animations for educational use. Our goal is to increase your understanding of medical terminology and help communication between patients, caregiver and healthcare professionals. The content in the Media Library is for your information and education purposes only. The Media Library is not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment for specific medical conditions.


Related Topics

All Topics